GO GO GO!

Every September I think, ‘gosh, wouldn’t it have been so much better if I’d planned a bit more during the holidays’ and I vow to do more the next year. But we all know it just doesn’t happen. Summer engulfs you and you go back feeling overwhelmed and underprepared.

Fortunately, I did manage to do a lot of Uni prep before the holidays. I’m glad I did because I have been able to focus on my students and my lessons in this first week back.

Last week I met my brand new Year 7s. My past experiences of new year 7 are very positive; they are little darlings. I was in for a slight shock this time as these year 7s were bigger and bolder than ever before. I say bigger because it really believe that they’re some of the tallest year 7s I’ve ever seen, it usually takes them until at least Christmas to outgrow my 5″ nothing height. I say bolder because these students have to come to secondary school with a lot of confidence and a lot of chatter.
In reflection, my first lesson was probably not as bad as I’ve saved it in my memory, but because they were as talkative as a usual year 9 lesson in mid-flow, I went away feeling defeated. I found myself worrying about the next lesson with them; would they respect me? Would they remember anything they learnt in the lesson?
Well, next lesson arrived this morning and went surprisingly well. In fact, I wished and wished for an a server to come in and watch the lesson. Students were engaged, probably because I set the rules and stayed positive. And they learnt; they remembered the previous lesson and enjoyed this one. Yes! One student, a young boy with SLD, laughed and said “Miss, this lesson is really fun!” Pride is a wonderful thing isn’t it? Today I am proud.

I used my circle skills and my SMSC and my success criteria and national curriculum, AFLs and whatever other acronyms I am supposed to use. But essentially, I got a student who struggles immensely to enjoy a lesson and to smile.

Tomorrow is my first official observation for my teacher training. I’m not worried, the stresses and pressures to perform and achieve are laid on by myself, I want to show my strengths and it will be good to get constructive feedback too. Wish me luck!

About littlemisslunn

Embarking on a testing journey into the world of teaching.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment