Reflecting on my observations

Well, it’s been a few weeks and a few observations since my last blog. It’s been tough, overwhelming, exciting and liberating… but mostly tiring.

My first observation went pleasingly to plan. During the feedback, my observer commented on how quiet the students were (which was not like them at all). This, I decided, was probably because they were as nervous as I was and so next time I didn’t tell them. In hindsight, I think that behaviour management and the structure of the lesson was better in the first observation than the second. I think that next time I am observed in this particular class I will have to pre warn them. I am thinking of ways to ensure they are comfortable with somebody else in the room; it is a really odd feeling when students do not want to talk just because there is a “stranger” in the room.

My second observation with this class (my third official observation), as I said, did not run smoothly. There was a missing stapler in the department (this will mean nothing to novice teachers, but trust me when I say how annoying missing items can be) and subsequently, I was not completely ready at the beginning of the lesson. This is partly my fault but I am sure many would say that one cannot control the behaviour of other adults.

After a flustered start, I found it quite difficult to settle. I picked it up towards the end, pulling out all the stops in order to achieve my “Good”, but I vow never to let anything like that hinder my performance again.

Target from these two observations: To allow more student led learning, or in other words, don’t talk too much! Pah!

The second official observation was with a top set Year 9. The focus for this observation was to refer to assessment and levels, and I went to town on this focus. Having really geeked up on my AFs, I was able to comfortably refer to them, even going into individual student targets. I was really pleased with my performance overall. Students made significant progress and thoroughly enjoyed the lesson, and I obtained my first ever “Outstanding”. Reflecting on this, I think I genuinely could not have done any more than what I did in that lesson.

Having achieved such remarkable feedback in my second week made it especially difficult when my most recent observation lesson did not go to plan. For me, the level I was given was insignificant because I knew in my heart of hearts that I had let myself down. My mentor has told me to stop being so hard on myself and she is right.

Everyone has off days.

Let’s hope my next is not one of those!

About littlemisslunn

Embarking on a testing journey into the world of teaching.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment